LA&PS Research Award to Prof. Alice MacLachlan

  Professor Alice MacLachlan has received the LA&PS Award for Distinction in Research in the Emerging Researcher category.  This is a very much deserved honor for Alice and a source of pride for the whole department. The letter from the Dean announcing the award reads, in part: "The evidence in your file signifies the impact […]

Professors Beck and MacLachlan receive two SSHRC Insight Grants

  This year, two Philosophy Department professors were awarded highly deserved five-year Insight Grants from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada.  Professor Jacob Beck received a grant for his research project , "Beyond language: how the mind represents the world," and Professor Alice MacLachlan received an award for her project, "Civility and […]

York Philosophy Graduate Student Conference

  This year is the 100th anniversary of the birth of Donald Davidson (1917-2003), one of the most prominent philosophers of the twentieth century. The graduate students in the Department of Philosophy have organized a conference in celebration of his thoroughly systematic and deeply original work, whose influence on, and relevance for, current ways of […]

Professor Kristin Andrews appointed to York Research Chair

  Professor Kristin Andrews has been appointed to a Tier II (emerging scholar) York Research Chair in Animal Minds.  York Research Chairs (YRCs) is an internal program aimed at building research recognition and research capacity, with excellence in research, scholarship and associated creative activity being the selection criteria. Standards, expectations and supports for YRCs are […]

New Executive for PHILOSOPHIA

  PHILOSOPHIA, the undergraduate Philosophy association has elected its new Executive for 2017-2018: President: Negus Taylor VP Finance: Ryan Rainville VP Social: Gelareh Moussavi VP Equity: Pourya Deicide Administrative Assistant: Thien Phan Volunteer Coordinator: Saghar Javaheri Editor-in-Chief: Alexandra Mursa Many thanks to the outgoing Executive for a very eventful and exciting year: Susan Chen, Ryan […]